The Cell Press–TNQ India Distinguished Lectureship Series 2012

Featured Speaker: Shinya Yamanaka

Shinya Yamanaka wins the Nobel Prize for medicine, 2012.

For the second time in a row, first Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn in 2010, and Dr. Shinya Yamanaka in 2012, a featured speaker of the Cell Press-TNQ India Distinguished Lectureship Series wins the Nobel Prize for Medicine. Congratulations Prof. Yamanaka, from all of us at TNQ. It was a great moment when you visited us earlier this year. And it is a proud moment now.

Shinya Yamanaka on “New Era of Medicine with iPS Cells”

The Cell Press–TNQ India Distinguished Lectureship Series
  • Bengaluru: January 30, 2012
  • Chennai: February 1, 2012
  • New Delhi: February 3, 2012

Shinya Yamanaka, the Japanese physician and celebrated adult stem cell researcher, delivered the Third Edition of The Cell Press-TNQ India Distinguished Lectureship Series in Bengaluru, Chennai, and New Delhi in January-February 2012. His Lecture is titled “New Era of Medicine with iPS Cells”. The schedule of the Lectures is given below.

Professor Yamanaka’s scientific breakthrough was the creation of embryonic-like stem cells from adult skin cells. Robert Lanza, Chief Scientific Officer of Advanced Cell Technology and Adjunct Professor at the Institute for Regenerative Medicine at Wake Forest University, has said that Yamanaka's work "is likely to be the most important stem-cell breakthrough of all time. The ability to generate an unlimited supply of patient-specific stem cells will revolutionize the future of medicine."

Professor Yamanaka divides his time between Kyoto and San Francisco. He serves as the Director of the Center for iPS Cell Research and Application and as Professor at the Institute for Frontier Medical Sciences at Kyoto University. He is also a Senior Investigator at the UCSF-affiliated J. David Gladstone Institutes and a Professor of Anatomy at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF).

Shinya Yamanaka's career in science has been a distinguished one. He was awarded the Albert Lasker Prize in 2009 and The Wolf Prize in 2011. These cap a long list of awards that are detailed below.

More about Professor Yamanaka's Research

The stated goal of Professor Yamanaka's laboratory has been to generate pluripotent stem cells from human somatic cells.

The ability to "reprogram" adult cells back into an earlier, undifferentiated state has helped to reshape the ethical debate over stem-cell research by providing an approach for obtaining pluripotent stem cells that does not require that they be taken from an embryo.

Earlier observations that somatic cells could be reprogrammed either by nuclear transfer into oocytes or by fusion with embryonic stem (ES) cells suggested that oocytes and ES cells contain factors that induce reprogramming. By identifying these factors, Yamanaka reasoned that it should be possible to induce pluripotency in somatic cells without using embryos or oocytes.

The significance of this is that ES cells, derived from the inner cell mass of mammalian blastocysts, can grow indefinitely while maintaining pluripotency. These properties have led to expectations that ES cells might be useful to treat a host of degenerative diseases, such as Parkinson's and Diabetes, as well as injuries including spinal cord injury. However, clinical application of human ES cells raises issues about the ethical use of human embryos and problems with tissue rejection after implantation. By generating pluripotent cells directly from somatic cells, it may be possible to circumvent these issues. Once established, these cells may be used in regenerative medicine and also to elucidate disease mechanisms and to screen drugs.


  • 2007Osaka Science Prize
  • 2007Inoue Prize for Science
  • 2007Asahi Prize
  • 2007Meyenburg Cancer Research Award
  • 2008Yamazaki-Teiichi Prize in Biological Science & Technology
  • 2008Robert Koch Prize
  • 2008Medals of Honor (Japan) (Medal with Purple Ribbon)
  • 2008Shaw Prize in Life Science & Medicine
  • 2008Sankyo Takamine Memorial Award
  • 2009Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research
  • 2009Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 2009Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research
  • 2010March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology
  • 2010Kyoto Prize in Biotechnology and Medical Technology
  • 2010Balzan Prize in Biology
  • 2010Person of Cultural Merit
  • 2010BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the Biomedicine Category
  • 2011Albany Medical Center Prize in Biomedicine
  • 2011Wolf Prize in Medicine
  • 2011King Faisal International Prize